Home

LBPSB Home

Useful Links

Safety

FAQ's

Contact Us

Franšais

  Member Login
Username  
Password  
   
  Quick Links
Overview
Policy
Plan
Zones: Attendance
Zones: Transportation
School Hours
Accommodation Services


 
Transportation Policy
 
Transportation Services for students: a legal framewok...
Transportation Policy...


Transportation Services for students: a legal framewok



The legal framework for student transportation services is provided by  The Education Act (“Act”) and the Regulation Respecting Student Transportation (“Regulation”)

This services are to be funded, contracted and organized by the Lester B. Pearson School Board (“Board”).

Under the Act, Sections 4, 188, 291 to 301 state the rights, powers and duties of the Board. These are further defined in the Student Transportation Policy (“Policy”). The Policy adopted in May 1998 by the Provisional Council and later revised by the Council of Commissioners (“Council”) in March 2004 and more recently in May 2014, established service availability, criteria for eligibility as well as organizational standards and controls. 

Under the Act, Sections 454 specify that the Regulation will dictate how the Board will establish its Advisory Committee on Student Transportation (the “Advisory Committee”).

Under the Regulation (Sections 7 to 11), the Advisory Committee is mandated to give its opinion to the Board on the Board’s Student Transportation Organizational Plan.

The Plan is proposed each year, as early as possible before the end of May, by the Board’s Administration to the Advisory Committee in order that they may give its opinion to Council as required by Regulation. Once adopted by Council, it becomes the Board’s course of action in matters related to student transportation in full compliance with the Education Ministry’s “Règles Budgétaires pour le transport scolaire “.  School hours and transportation zones  are thus set in this Plan to maximize available financial resources and to comply with the Board’s Operating Budget approved by the Council.

The current Policy establishes that, where applicable, free busing will be offered for the following “home to school” distances:      

  • Kindergartens will walk no further than 800 m to their school;
  • Elementary students may walk up to 1600 m to their school;
  • Secondary students may walk up to 2400 m to their school.

Using known roadways and pathways, these distances are measured by a computer software called “Geobus”; the only software recognized by the Board for this purpose.

Notwithstanding the above distances, students with physical or sensory disabilities as well as those with cognitive impairments are eligible for transportation. Transportation may also be provided to a student with a temporary disabling health condition for as long as this condition prevails.  Medical certificates must support these requests.

The following “home to stop” distances will be used, whenever possible, to minimize the amount of time that our students will spend on the bus:

  • Kindergartens will walk no further than 300 m to their bus stop;
  • Elementary students may walk up to 400 m to their bus stop;
  • Secondary students may walk up to 800 m to their bus stop.

Bus stops are located at intersections of roadways; not at residences. Notwithstanding this statement, “door” stops can be made to respect the “home to stop distances” as described above or for students with special transportation needs. For safety reasons, kindergarten and grade 1 students must be supervised by an adult at the bus stop, morning and afternoon.

The Plan confirms that the optimal capacity for large buses of 60 passengers at the elementary level and 48 passengers at the secondary level will be sought throughout the system.

 In all cases where transportation is provided by the Board, for free or for a fee, it will from the same address, five (5) days a week. The morning and afternoon bus locations can be different as long as they are used five (5) days a week and registered as part of the “empty seat” program.

Transportation Entitlement

Since 1998 when the Board was created, the Council of Commissioners has adopted Resolutions establishing attendance zones for each school. The boundaries for these zones are defined and detailed in the:  “Summary of Attendance Zones”. (this document is available at www.lbpsb.qc.ca).

With this Plan, using these attendance zones as reference and in accordance with Article 4.1.1 of the Policy, the Council of Commissioners adopts Transportation zones where students will benefit from school busing and zones where parents will receive financial compensation for their child’s use of public transportation (STM) to and from school in lieu of school busing.

 Accordingly, four (6) types of transportation services and/or entitlements will be offered during the 2016-2017 school year:

1)     Free school bus for kindergarten to grade 6 students (regular service);

2)      Free school bus for grades 7 and 8 only (“green” service);

3)      Free school bus for grades 7 to 11 (“blue” service);

4)      Parental allocation ($250 per school year) towards STM expenses

5)       Transportation for a fee

6)      Free school bus for grades 8 to 11 ("Gray" service)


top^



 
 
  Copyright © 2017 by LBPSB.com. All Rights Reserved.

Accueil

CSLBP

Liens utiles

Sécurité

Questions

Nous joindre

English

  Rubriques
Vue d'ensemble
Politique de transport
Plan de transport


 
Politique de Transport scolaire
 
Transport scolaire - Cadre juridique...
Politique de Transport...


Transport scolaire - Cadre juridique



La Loi sur l'instruction publique (« la Loi ») et le Règlement sur le transport des élèves (« le Règlement ») fournissent le cadre légal pour le financement, la sous-traitance et l’organisation des services de transport des élèves par la Commission scolaire Lester-B.-Pearson (« la Commission »).
 

Les articles 4, 188, et 291 à 301 de la Loi stipulent les droits, les pouvoirs et les obligations de la Commission. Ceux-ci sont définis avec plus de précision dans la Politique sur le transport scolaire (« la Politique »).  La Politique adoptée en mai 1998 par le Conseil provisoire, puis révisée par le Conseil des commissaires  (« le Conseil ») en mars 2004,et plus récemment en mai 2014,  établit les catégories générales de transport à offrir, les critères d’admissibilité pour chaque catégorie, de même que les normes et les contrôles organisationnels.

L’article 454 de la Loi spécifie que le Règlement dicte la manière dont la Commission établira son comité consultatif de transport des élèves (« le comité consultatif »).

Selon les articles 7 à 11 du Règlement, le comité consultatif a le mandat de donner son avis à la Commission sur le plan d’organisation du transport des élèves.

L’équipe de gestionnaires de la Commission propose un plan chaque année, le plus tôt possible avant la fin du mois de mai, au comité consultatif, afin qu’il puisse donner son avis au Conseil, tel que requis par le Règlement. Une fois adopté par le Conseil, ce plan devient le plan d’action en matière de transport des élèves et il se conforme aux Règles budgétaires pour le transport scolaire du ministère de l’Éducation. Les heures de classe et les zones de transport sont établies dans ce plan afin de maximiser les ressources financières disponibles et de se conformer au budget de fonctionnement de la Commission approuvé par le Conseil.

 La Politique actuelle établit que, le cas échéant, le transport gratuit sera fourni selon les distances « du domicile à l’école » suivantes :

  • Les élèves de maternelle ne marcheront pas plus de 800 m jusqu’à leur école;

  • Les élèves du primaire pourront marcher jusqu’à 1600 m jusqu’à leur école;

  • Les élèves du secondaire pourront marcher jusqu’à 2400 m jusqu’à leur école.

Ces distances sont mesurées, selon les voies d’accès connues, par un logiciel informatique appelé « BusPlanner », le seul logiciel reconnu par la Commission à cet effet.

Indépendamment des distances établies ci-dessus, les élèves ayant des déficiences physiques ou sensorielles, de même que ceux qui présentent des déficiences cognitives, sont admissibles aux services de transport. Le transport peut aussi être fourni à un élève souffrant d’une maladie ou d’une blessure invalidante temporaire aussi longtemps que cette situation existe. Des certificats médicaux doivent appuyer de telles demandes.

 Les « distances du domicile à l’arrêt » seront utilisées, autant que faire se peut, pour minimiser le temps que l’élève passe dans l’autobus :     

  • Les élèves de maternelle ne marcheront pas plus de 300 m jusqu’à leur arrêt;

  • Les élèves du primaire pourront marcher jusqu’à 400 m jusqu’à leur arrêt;

  • Les élèves du secondaire pourront marcher jusqu’à 800 m jusqu’à leur arrêt.

Les arrêts d’autobus sont situés aux intersections des voies publiques; non aux domiciles. Cependant, des arrêts aux domiciles peuvent être déterminés pour respecter les « distances du domicile à l’arrêt » ci-dessus ou pour les élèves handicapés. Pour des raisons de sécurité, les élèves de maternelle et de 1re année doivent être surveillés par un adulte aux arrêts, le matin et l’après-midi.

Le plan confirme qu’une capacité optimale des gros autobus de 60 passagers au primaire et de 48 passagers au secondaire sera l’objectif dans toute la commission scolaire.

Dans tous les cas où le transport est fourni par la Commission, gratuitement ou selon un tarif, ce sera à partir de la même adresse, 5 jours par semaine. Les arrêts du matin et de l’après-midi peuvent être différents, en autant qu’ils restent les mêmes 5 jours par semaine et sont inscrits dans le cadre du programme « places libres ».

Admissibilité au transport

Depuis la création de la Commission scolaire en 1998, le Conseil des commissaires a adopté des résolutions établissant des zones de fréquentations pour toutes les écoles. Les limites de ces zones sont définies dans un document intitulé Sommaire de zones de fréquentations.

Avec le présent plan, en prenant ces zones de fréquentations comme référence et en conformité avec l’article 4.1.1 de la Politique, le Conseil des commissaires adopte des zones de transport où les élèves bénéficieront du transport scolaire et des zones où les parents recevront une compensation financière pour permettre aux élèves d’utiliser les transports publics (STM) au lieu du transport scolaire.

Selon ce plan, quatre (4) types de transport scolaire ou d’allocation seront offerts durant l’année scolaire 2018-2019 :

1)      Le transport scolaire gratuit pour les élèves de maternelle à 6e année (service régulier);

2)      Le transport scolaire gratuit pour les élèves de la 1re et la 2e secondaire seulement (service « vert »); 

3)      Le transport scolaire gratuit pour les élèves de la 1re à la 5e secondaire (service « bleu »);

4)      Allocation aux parents (250 $ par année scolaire) pour payer une partie des frais exigés par la STM.


top^



 
 
  Copyright © 2019 by LBPSB.com. All Rights Reserved.